Avmin announces new management structure

14 June 2002

It was previously announced that Rick Menell has been appointed Chairman at Anglovaal Mining Limited (Avmin) and David Murray its Chief Executive Officer (CEO), both with effect from 1 July 2002. It is today announced that Jan Steenkamp will replace David Murray as Chief Operating Officer with effect from the same date.

Doug Campbell will continue as the Chief Financial Officer and, together with Jan Steenkamp, will report to the CEO, David Murray. Julian Gwillim, previously General Manager: Investor Relations, has been appointed Vice President: Corporate Development and will also report to the CEO.

Jan Steenkamp, who will now be directly responsible for Chambishi Metals’ operations and marketing activities, will also have the following management team reporting to him:

Bryan Broekman – Senior Vice President: responsible for Assmang Limited;
Gerhard Potgieter – Senior Vice President: South African operations (Nkomati, Target and ETC) and projects (Nkomati expansion, Two Rivers Platinum, Avmin Alloys and Avgold’s Northern Free State exploration);
Gerry Robbertze – Senior Vice President: Group Technical Services;
Freddie Human – Vice President: Safety, Health and Environment; and
Graham Emmett – Vice President: Human Resources.
Ms Teboho Mahuma has been appointed General Manager: Communications and Public Affairs, reporting to Rick Menell.

Julian Gwillim
General Manager, Investor Relations