Change in organisational responsibilities Changes will result in an intensified focus!

18 January 2001

Following David Murray’s appointment to COO and Rick Menell’s decision to concentrate his attention on Avmin Group strategies, major transactions and external relations, the executive responsibilities have been reorganised with effect 1 February 2001 along the following lines:

Dave de Beer has consented to work on corporate mergers, acquisitions and major divestments within a newly formed corporate strategic development team, reporting to Rick. He will also advise Doug Campbell and David Murray on related issues.
Doug Campbell will become Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of the Avmin Group and will remain Finance Director of Avgold.
Gerry Robbertze will become Senior Vice President: cobalt and copper. Jan Steenkamp’s title will change to Senior Vice President: ferrous metals and Graham Emmett’s will change to Vice President: human resources.
Gerhard Potgieter will move to Johannesburg as Vice President: precious metals. Graham Butler will replace Gerhard as General Manager of Target.
Thys Uys will become Vice President: technical services providing general technical support to business units and corporate strategy.
Neville Roberts will coordinate Group Safety, Health and Environmental policies, management systems and reporting, as Vice President: SHE
David Murray shall assume responsibility for nickel until further notice. Consequently Lloyd Bradford (from the Nkomati expansion team) and Arne Lewis (Nkomati’s Mine Manager) will report to him.
Julian Gwillim
General Manager, Investor Relations