Modikwa runner Leboka Noto finishes third in the 2012 Comrades Marathon

3 June 2012

African Rainbow Minerals (ARM) and Modikwa Platinum Mine proudly announces that Leboka Noto, an employee of Modikwa and running in the colours of Nedbank Running Club, finished in third position in the 2012 Comrades Marathon in a time of five hours, 33 minutes and 31 seconds. Leboka was also the first veteran (above 40 years of age) to cross the finish line.

The 2012 race saw Leboka achieve his fourth gold Comrades Marathon medal since running his first Ultimate Human race in 2001.

Modikwa delivered more exceptional results in the 2012 race. Peter Molapo, running in the colours of Mr. Price Sport finished in 38th position with a time of 06:04:24 and Surprise Makofane was the top runner from the Modikwa Marathon Club in the 335th position. The Club also entered two novice runners, Cedrick Mbuyane who finished in a time of 08:52:20 and Lawrence Rhapiri who crossed the finish line in 11:30:06. In the Masters Category (above 50 years of age), Solomon Masedi won a bronze medal thereby improving his time achieved in 2011. Another highlight was Mandla Nxumalo from the Manyoni Team who improved his time by 45 minutes to run a sub 10 hour race.

These athletes are all part of the 19 500 runners that started the race at 05:30 in front of the Pietermaritzburg Town Hall on Sunday June 3rd 2012, in cool but ideal weather conditions for running.

The team would like to thank the following sponsors for making their trip to KwaZulu-Natal possible; Modikwa Platinum Mine, Zizwe General Trade, Cheetah Technologies, Pick �n Pay – Steelpoort, Nando’s -Burgersfort, OK Grocer and OK Mini Market – Burgersfort.

Overall team results, times, position and medals won.
Name Surname Reg nr Results Position Medal
Leboko Noto A49863 05:33:31 3 Gold
Peter Molapo A32757 06:04:24 38 Silver
Surprise Makofane A28424 07:13:01 335 Silver
Ernest Mokoo A28577 07:25:01 521 Silver
Sonia Makoua B27905 07:34:36 671 Bill Rowan
Albert Twala D45149 08:21:55 1326 Bill Rowan
Cedrick Mboyane B40301 08:52:20 2127 Bill Rowan
Victor Maroge A48612 08:58:00 2408 Bill Rowan
Jeffrey Nkuna A28042 09:12:41 2671 Bronze
Adolph Boshego G48603 09:17:48 2755 Bronze
Solomon Masedi D37473 09:43:52 3454 Bronze
Aron Maroga A39173 09:47:38 3573 Bronze
Mandla Nxumalo F47589 09:58:08 4027 Bronze
Lawrence Raphiri D54251 11:30:06 7697 Vic Clapham


Photo gallery